This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Angers (Municipality, Maine-et-Loire, France)

Last modified: 2013-08-03 by ivan sache
Keywords: maine-et-loire | angers | fleur-de-lis: 2 (yellow) | key (white) | letters: cva (white) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors



[Flag of Angers]

Flag of Angers - Image by Ivan Sache, 24 April 2001


See also:


Presentation of Angers

Angers (ca. 140,000 inhabitants, Angevins) is the préfecture of the departement of Maine-et-Loire, Region Pays de la Loire, and the capital of the former Duchy of Anjou.

Angers is famous for its fortified castle, built by Blanche de Castille and his son Louis IX (St. Louis) in 1231. The castle has 17 massive towers of 40-50 m high, and the total length of its walls exceeds one kilometer. The castle is now a museum and houses beautiful tapestries from 14th (Apocalypse tapestry) to 16th (Penthesilea tapestry) centuries.
The former St. John hospital houses a collection of modern tapestries (The Song of the World) by Jean Lurçat (1892-1966).

Ivan Sache, 24 April 2001


Municipal flag of Angers

The municipal flag of Angers is hoisted in front of the Town Hall, along with the flags of France, European Union, and Anjou (two rows of flags).

The flag is vertically divided red-blue with the municipal coat of arms in the middle.
The coat of arms has a red field charged with a vertical silver key, and a blue chief charged with two golden fleur-de-lys.
On the flag, there is a white fimbriation around the coat of arms. The shade of the field of the coat of arms is slightly lighter than the shade of the red half of the flag.

Municipal privilege and chief of France for the blason were granted to the city by King Louis XI, nephew of René, last Duke of Anjou.

The image shown above was made using the municipal blason from the GASO website. On the real flags, the key looks slightly different, with three 'teeth' instead of two and a heart-shaped base.

Ivan Sache, 24 April 2001


Cercle de la Voile d'Angers

[CV Angers]

Burgee of CVA - Image by Jorge Candeias, 28 December 2004

Cercle de la Voile d'Angers (CVA), founded in 1896, has a blue burgee with two red triangles placed along the hoist, the upper triangle being smaller, and the writing "CVA 1896" in white in the blue part.

Source: Yacht Club de France website (affiliated clubs)

Ivan Sache, 28 December 2004