This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Loiret (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-05-17 by ivan sache
Keywords: loiret | centre |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 45
Region: Centre
Traditional provinces: Orléanais, Berry, Île-de-France
Bordering departments: Cher, Eure-et-Loir, Loir-et-Cher, Nièvre, Seine-et-Marne, Yonne, Essonne

Area: 6,775 km2
Population (2006): 645,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Orléans
Sous-préfectures: Montargis, Pithiviers
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 41 cantons, 334 communes.

The department is named after river Loiret (12 km), which is a reappearance of Loire.

Ivan Sache, 12 November 2009

Flags of Loiret

The Department of Loiret seems to use two flags, according to a photography shown on the website of the General Council:
- a blue flag with the emblem of the department, a stylized yellow fleur-de-lis, recalling the traditional arms of the Duchy of Orléans, aka Orléanais) surmounting the writing "le Loiret" in white and two white waves, representing river Loire; this flag can be considered as the flag of the department;
- a yellow flag with, in the middle, a square version of the flag of the department, and, below, the writing "Conseil Général", in blue; this flag can be considered as the flag of the General Council.

In August 1998, Pascal Vagnat spotted in August 1998 another flag, white with the greater arms of the department, displayed inside the building of the General Council.

Ivan Sache, 13 March 2008