This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Corse-du-Sud (Department, France)

Last modified: 2012-04-07 by ivan sache
Keywords: corse-du-sud | corse |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 2A
Region: Corse
Traditional province: Corsica
Bordering department: Haute-Corse

Area: 4,014 km2
Population (1999): 118,593 inhabitants

Préfecture: Ajaccio
Sous-préfectures: Sartène
Subdivisions: 2 arrondissements, 22 cantons, 124 communes.

The former department of Corse (20) was divided on 1 January 1976 into Corse-du-Sud (South Corsica) and Haute-Corse (Upper Corsica). The two departments already existed in 1793-1811, as Liamone and Golo (two rivers' names), respectively.

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009