This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eure-et-Loir (Department, France)

Last modified: 2009-12-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: eure-et-loir | centre | wheat |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council]

Flag of the General Council of Eure-et-Loir - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 29 September 2002

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 28
Region: Centre
Traditional provinces: Orléanais, Maine, Île-de-France
Bordering departments: Eure, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret, Orne, Sarthe, Yvelines, Essonne

Area: 5,880 km2
Population (2006): 421,114 inhabitants

Préfecture: Chartres
Sous-préfectures: Châteaudun, Dreux, Nogent-le-Rotrou
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 29 cantons, 403 communes.

The department is named after rivers Eure (225 km), tributary of the Seine, and Loir (311 km), tributary of the Sarthe.
Decree of 30 September 1974 transferred the former municipality of Dommerville (Eure-et-Loir) into the municipality of Angerville (Essonne).

Ivan Sache, 11 November 2009

Flag of the General Council

The General Council of Eure-et-Loir flies, along the French national flag, a green flag with the logo of the General Council covering almost the full width of the flag.

The logo, adopted in 1999, is made of the full name of the departement, with "et" (and) symbolized by an ampersand (&) made of wheat ears. A part of the Beauce region, used to be called "the wheat loft of France" (le grenier à blé de la France is located in Eure-et-Loir.

The General Council used before 1999 a logo made of the two blue letters "EL" with two red wavy lines and a little white "28" in the "E". The letters and the lines are the symbols of the rivers who gave their names to the departement.

Olivier Touzeau, 29 September 2002