This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Südwestpfalz County (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany)

Landkreis Südwestpfalz, Southwest Palatinate, until 31st December 1996 Landkreis Pirmasens

Last modified: 2011-06-13 by german editorial team
Keywords: rhineland-palatinate | landkreis südwestpfalz | südwestpfalz county | landkreis pirmasens | pirmasens county | palatinate: southwest | coat of arms: parted per pale (chevronny) | coat of arms: parted per |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Südwestpfalz County (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany)] 3:5
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag adopted 1st August 1983, coat-of-arms adopted 20th December 1972

See also:


Divided red and yellow, bearing the arms. Granted 1.8.1983. Sources: Debus 1988 and Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website.

Stefan Schwoon, 30 January 2001

Pirmasens county was renamed to Südwestpfalz with effect of 01.01.1997. The license plate code remained the same (PS).

Stefan Schwoon, 22 October 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on December 20, 1972. The county historically belonged to the Pfalz and to the Counts of Hanau-Lichtenberg. This is symbolised in the arms with the lion of the Pfalz and the chevrons of Hanau.

Literature: Linder and Olzog 1996.

Santiago Dotor, 23 October 2001

Hanging Flag


[Südwestpfalz County hanging flag (Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon